Back to Home
Who We Are
Visit Us
Explore Our Collections
Selections From The NJHS Collections
Museum: Artifact Collections
Archives: Documents, Manuscripts, & Photographs
Library: Published Books, Periodicals, & Maps
Other Resources
Do History
For Teachers
Get Involved
-- Manuscript Group 1178, Jackson Glass Works, Waterford Township, NJ, Receipts, 1832 - 1833

Archives Documents, Manuscripts, Maps, & Photographs

Manuscript Group 1178, Jackson Glass Works, Waterford Township, NJ

Receipts, 1832-1833, 0.1 linear feet / 1 folder

Call Number: MG 1178


The Jackson Glass works were established by Thomas Richards (d. 1860) in 1827 and operated until 1877.  The collection is comprised, chiefly, of bills and receipts of this Camden County, New Jersey glass firm.


Administrative History:

In 1827, Thomas H. Richards (d. 1860) established the Jackson Glass Works in Waterford Township, Camden County, New Jersey. His sons, Samuel H. and Thomas Albert (b. 1809) continued the operations until 1877 when a fire destroyed the factory.


Geo R. Prowell. The History of Camden County, New Jersey (L.J. Richards: Philadelphia, Pa., 1886).

Genealogical Magazine of New Jersey (The Genealogical Society of New Jersey: Newark, N.J., 1925-6).


Provenance Note:

The source of this collection is unknown.


Scope and Content Note:

This collection consists of receipts for goods purchased by the Jackson Glass Works from Joseph Rogers (fl. 1832-1833).  The Jackson Glass Works bought hay, straw, cider and potatoes from the farmer.


Processed by James Lewis, April 2001 as part of the "Farm to City" project funded by a grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.

Submit a request to copy part of this collection


The New Jersey Historical Society
52 Park Place - Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 596-8500 - Fax: (973) 596-6957
Contact NJHS
Copyright © 2001, The New Jersey Historical Society
Our Privacy Policy - Site Map


-- --


Search JerseyHistory.org:

Search Archives:

Browse the Archives


Title Line: